Teachers are Teachers Best Friends!

Hi friends!

I believe that one of the best ways one can learn is through others! Some of the ways I plan on growing as teacher is by looking to fellow teachers who are exceptional!

After looking at several blogs, my mind was completely overwhelmed with all the information it took in. Some of the blogs I found were too wordy and formal. It was as if they were writing in a way only scholars could understand! While other blogs I looked at used such informal language (one even included cuss words!) that it seemed the teacher had no professional training. Today, I specifically want to review 3 teachers whose blogs I admire, as I am learning on how to grow my presence on the internet through my blog. Alas: here are myfavourite3blogs.

One of the first blogs that stood out to me was Cool cat Teacher Blog which can be found at http://coolcatteacher.blogspot.ca/). I love how this blog has a catchy title! This blog is like an instruction manual for teachers, and has many lessons on how to use different resources inside of the classroom. The author of this blog, Vicki Davis, is a fulltime teacher, who specifies in teaching keyboards to her children. Some of the posts I liked on this blog were co-written by guest writers. One being a podcast about how to be innovative like a turtle! This fun podcast talks about how every classroom matters, and how teachers can and should try out new things in their classrooms! This means a lot to me because it doesn’t matter whether you are a fulltime teacher, or a substitute teacher, every classroom you enter matters. For every classroom you enter you have an opportunity to learn something from the students, and they have an opportunity to learn something from you. There is never EVER a reason to write off a classroom, or to not give 100% to them, whether they be temporary or permanent.

The next blog I fell in love with is Think Inclusive. While cruising through this site I stumbled onto the article Procrastinate. This article talks about how a teacher struggles with lesson planning, and they give a detailed outline on how to stay on top of the game. Since procrastination has been something I struggled with, this really stuck out to me. But it is encouraging to see a teacher who struggles in the same areas as me, but are still able to be a successful and productive teacher to their students!

The final blog I was able to really connect with was the blog Ditch That Textbook. I found this blog to be very encouraging, as it is talking about how to implement technology inside of the classroom. One of the blogposts I enjoyed the most was called How to get parents on Board for Big Changes. This blog post talks about how to get parents on board with what you are doing inside of the classroom. One area I am most concerned with handling as a future teacher is how to talk to parents of my students. The author talks all about how to need to share your vision with them, and show how you put your heart into what you are doing inside of the classroom. If you can let the parent see your passion for their children’s education, they will be more likely to share that vison. With that being said, he also says to not over sell what you are doing in the classroom, as there is always room for failure. If you tell parents about this fantastic new method you’re implementing inside of the classroom, and it turns out to be a total bust, you can lose your credibility in the parents mind. To learn more about this topic I would highly recommend you to read this post (which can be found at http://ditchthattextbook.com/2017/01/16/how-to-get-parents-on-board-with-your-big-changes.).

Hopefully you check out some of these blogs and are able to learn something new you can implement inside of your classroom! I know I did!

Cheers,

  • Miss Krystin Carroll

3 thoughts on “Teachers are Teachers Best Friends!

  1. mschloeherman says:

    Hey Krystin! I really enjoyed the third blog you wrote about “Ditch That Textbook”. I found it to be very helpful on how to involve parents in their child’s learning, as well as keeping them up to date with new ways you are presenting information to their children. I am also beginning to explore the different ways to communicate with parents in my future class. What ways do you plan on involving parents in your future classroom? I will continue looking at this helpful blog. Thanks, Chloe Herman

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cammiekannekens says:

    Hi Kyrstin,
    If you are a fan of the Ditch that Textbook blog, you would probably enjoy their Twitter chat. I’m not sure what night it is on, but it is one of the better ones that I’ve participated in. If you follow the blog author on Twitter, they’ll advertise the Twitter chat.
    Cammie K

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kaity Letwiniuk says:

    Hey Kyrstin, I really enjoyed the Think Exclusive blog you shared. I also struggle with procrastination and after making that lesson plan for ed tech I am already freaking out about never being prepared for the classroom! It definitely helps knowing you’re not the only one out there! Another blog that you might want to look at that has lots of tips for teachers is The Rookie Teacher! Let me know what you think about it, it really helped me!
    Kaity Letwiniuk

    Like

Leave a Reply

