Stop Motion in the Classroom.

Hey, everyone!

This week in my EDTS325 class we are discussing how to utilize various apps inside of the classroom to improve our students learning. Nowadays in society, everyone is a consumer of content. We are consuming content more than we are creating content. This past weekend alone I’ve probably watched 30 YouTube videos, but haven’t created a single one. Because of this, my EDTS325 teacher challenged us to become creators of content. At first, I was terrified of this. I had no idea where to begin, or what to create. So I turned to where any confused college student would turn to: Google. Here I was able to read about an app that lets one create content easily using pictures. This app is called StopMotion. This app is so easy to understand that anyone can use it! All you have to be able to do is take pictures and have a basic understanding of how an iPad works. For my stop motion video, I decided to theme it around the saying “April showers bring May flowers”. For the beginning of my video, I have storm clouds come into the frame, and they then begin to rain. After some thunder and lightening the rain clears up, the sun comes out and flowers begin to bloom. With this video being only 13 seconds long you wouldn’t guess that it took me a total of 2 hours to create. However, although this was a long process, I am thankful for StopMotion and how easy t is to use. Here ae some pros and cons I found with the app.

Pros:

The app is free to download and is available on both Android and iPhone

The app has a very clean and simple layout, making it easy for all ages to use

The app allows for the creator to input sound effects, song, text, and all sorts of other special effects

Cons:

Most of the features on this app have to be bought

You can only take pictures using the app itself

 

Overall I found this app to be very useful and would recommend it to teachers who are wanting to implement stop motion projects inside of their classroom!

Thanks for reading!

Miss Krystin Carroll

Check out the video I made suing this link:

Leave a Reply

