Is Digital Citzenship Important

Hey readers!

So today in my EDTS 325 class we were separated into groups and were challenged against one another to find some random information on the internet. The team who the questions the fastest and got all of the right answers won! Guess who won? My partner Miss Katti Mullens and I! We were so excited that we won the game, but then our professor looked at our answers and asked us to analyze them closely. One of the questions was: List 3 things you could do inside of Mankato Minnesota. Our answer to this question was: see the great Mankato pyramid, go whale watching, and to walk cross freshly exploded lava. At first, I didn’t see the fault in this, I thought Mankato was just an amazing tourist destination, but then I put on my critical thinking hat. How can a town surrounded by land have whale watching? And when was the last time you’ve heard of a pyramid or a volcano in the United States? Another one of the questions was to list the dangers of Dihydrogen Monoxide, to which our answer was that it caused cancer. Do you know what Dihydrogen Monoxide is? Water.

This made me put on my teacher hat, and I thought about my future student’s digital citizenship and how misleading websites like the ones I used in class are. Just like I was fooled by these websites polished looks, my students could be too! As a future teacher, I think that is a necessity to ensure that my students have critical thinking skills especially in an age where there is a lot of misleading information online. I’m concerned about my future students and what ideas about the world they will form when using websites that are publishing information that isn’t true. How I am going to solve this problem inside of my classroom is to ensure that one of my hidden curriculum objectives is to ensure my students have a good working knowledge of how information online is to always reliable, and how to figure out is something is credible or not. One of the ways I will teach my students this is through the CRAP test (perhaps I would rename it). If you want to find out more about the CRAP test, follow this link! https://libraries.mercer.edu/research-tools-help/citation-tools-help/images/PrintableCRAPtest.pdf

What do you guys think about online information and its credibility? Do you think it is a big deal and something we need to teach our students, or should we let them navigate the internet on their own?

Let me know in the comment section below!

-Miss Krystin Carroll

One thought on “Is Digital Citzenship Important

Leave a Reply

